Committee named to aid Center for Innovation director search

Source: Provost's Office

Rendering of innovation center.

More Info

To nominate prospective candidates or ask questions of the committee, email [email protected].

Provost Laurie McCauley has named an advisory committee to assist in the search for an inaugural director of the new University of Michigan Center for Innovation in Detroit.

The position will report to the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and function as a critical ambassador to a wide range of Detroit stakeholders.

The UMCI will provide downtown Detroit with a world-class research, education and entrepreneurship center designed to advance innovation and talent-focused community development.

James Hilton, vice provost for academic innovation, will lead the committee. He said the UMCI will support educational programming, workforce development and collaboration with new and existing U-M business partners.

“This search is tremendously exciting,” said Hilton, an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of information. “The director will be in a position to help create a vibrant and broadly inclusive ecosystem focused on improving the economic vitality of the city.

“The center will serve as a magnet for businesses, entrepreneurs and community members as they seek skills and habits of mind that are the hallmarks of the emerging economy.”

The UMCI director will be responsible for administrating strategic workforce development programs, supporting U-M units in their Detroit engagement efforts, supporting schools and colleges that offer degree programs at the UMCI, fostering UMCI entrepreneurship programs, managing the center’s budget and staff, and developing and implementing a strategic plan for the UMCI’s growth, development and financial sustainability.

In addition to Hilton, search advisory committee members include:

  • Valeria Bertacco, vice provost for engaged learning, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, and Mary Lou Dorf Collegiate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering.
  • Bryan Boyer, director of Bachelor of Science in Urban Technology and clinical assistant professor of architecture and urban planning, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning.
  • Ante Britten, senior administrative director, Rackham Graduate School.
  • Rona Carter, associate professor of psychology, LSA.
  • Steven L. Ceccio, associate dean for academic affairs, Vincent T. and Gloria M. Gorguze Professor of Engineering, and professor of mechanical engineering and of naval architecture and marine engineering, CoE.
  • Christopher Culley, assistant vice president for planning and strategic initiatives, Office of the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.
  • William S. Currie, associate dean of research and engagement, professor of environment and sustainability, School for Environment and Sustainability; and professor of environment, Program in the Environment, SEAS and LSA.
  • Elisabeth Gerber, Jack L. Walker Jr. Collegiate Professor of Public Policy and professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; and professor of political science, LSA.
  • Melia Howard, director of community relations, Mayor’s Office, city of Detroit.
  • Barbara Israel, professor of health behavior and health education, School of Public Health; and director of the Detroit Urban Research Center.
  • Sharon F. Matusik, Edward J. Frey Dean of Business, Stephen M. Ross Professor of Business and professor of business, Stephen M. Ross School of Business.
  • Kelly Sexton, associate vice president for research – innovation partnerships, Office of the Vice President for Research.

Alena Stocking, director of organizational effectiveness and delivery in the Office of Enrollment Management, and Heather Mozes, senior project manager in the Office of the Provost, are assisting with the search.

Back to News + Stories